Maryland Drivers Education program is one of the prerequisite by law prior to obtaining your Provisional Driver License (PDL). We offer Drivers Education for Teens and adults who are getting their drivers license for the first time.
Like most other states, Maryland has instituted a graduated licensing program to help young drivers build better skills and gain more experience. The program is divided into three gradual steps, and is required for all applicants who are of the legal age to take the program. The graduated licensing program also known as the Rookie Program means that each student have to complete each stage before moving on to the next level.
A new driver must take the 36 hours of Driver Education Program and pass accompanying tests to be eligible to apply for Provision Licenses in Maryland. 30 of the 36 hours are delivered in a class setting. The remaining 6 hours are for in-car evaluation of driving skills Behind The Wheel (BTW)
In addition to passing the Driver Education Program, a new driver under 25 will have to practice additional 60 hours documented in Skill log book to be eligible to test for the Provisional License. 10 of the 60 hours bust driven at night. A new driver 25 or more are required to log 14 hours in the Skill Log Book to be eligible for Provisional License. 3 of the 14 hours must driving at night..
Learner’s Permit Requirements:
all applicants must is be at least 15 years and 9 months to enroll.
Provisional License Requirements:
You must be at least age 16 years and 6 months, and have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of nine months. Provide a certificate showing that you completed a driver education course. (Effective January 1, 2009: You won’t have to show a paper certificate proving you completed the course. Your course instructor will electronically send the information to the MVA.) Present your practice log, signed by a parent or guardian.
Pass the driving test.
Full License Requirements:
You must now be age 18 years old.
You have held the provisional license for a minimum of 18 months without any violations.
Due to COVID-19 In-Person Classroom Sessions for this program has been temporarily suspended.
Advance registration for this class online or in person is the preferred method to secure a seat.
Payment can be made online through this website or in person at the school with cash or money order. Payment must be received before DEP classroom session.